Websites and the curse of assumption

I had a great call today with Craig Crook of tqmnet.com.  I only mention the website because I looked at it briefly before our call and, in less than 30 seconds, completely fabricated an idea of what Craig’s company did.

Since when is a website the company?  Since when does 200 words of homepage text explain the intricacies of our business?  And yet this is how we judge now – font selection, homepage button names and representational images.  Certainly, the company has a responsibility to think through their online content so that it best represents them, but I’m going to go out on a limb and say you shouldn’t judge a company by its web page.  One of the best web design companies I know doesn’t have a site.  What do you think of that?  Please remember that a website is one of the many, many, MANY ways to learn about a company and what they do.  Picking up the phone is another.

I’m really glad I had a chance to connect with Craig.  Not only is he a good guy, his company is doing some truly fascinating things.  None of which I ever would have learned if I’d assumed his website fully represented him, his company, all their activity and aspirations.  Some of the best things in life are hidden just below the surface.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

