Eat the bacon

Gotta love technology – I was riding a bus yesterday from Calgary to Ft. MacMurray Alberta.  This was no ordinary bus either – we had wifi access, power adapters, a wetbar at the back and movies playing continuously.  It was a pretty decent way to spend 11 hours.

HOWEVER – I discovered there was a bit of a glitch with the wifi during an online chat with a friend who’s subletting my apartment during my 6 week adventure.  He was listing off perishables in the fridge and got to “bacon”.  I said “eat the bacon”… and then I said it 37 times more.  Which is to say, my computer kept posting the one line over, and over, and over.  Humourous at first, annoying after a minute and almost insulting near the end.  but it got me thinking…

Words.  Wonderful little things.  HUGE potential in every one of them – to inspire, to instruct, to educate and to recognize.  And yet how many of them do we use, each day, completely ineffectively?  How much audible garbage are we putting into the universe each day without providing value?  I challenge you today to make a difference with your words.  Don’t just fill the vaccum with sound, fill the world with possibility.  Focus on what you say, how you say it, and who you say it to – just for one day.  You may be amazed at how many words go to waste.

Side note:  If our bus had been in an accident at that precise moment, my last words on this earth could have been “eat the bacon”… not exactly the legacy I’m hoping to leave.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

