Full Time

Goose Educational Media logoSo, recently I made the move from “corporate marketing” life to “independent educational media” life.  Full time.  And I’ve been thinking a lot about the term.  I’ve been creating, building and growing The Goose for the better part of two years now, but it was never full time.  It started as five hours a week, grew to twenty, and eventually the work hours started to encroach on my “real job”.  So I left the real job.  My point here isn’t about the “corporate vs independent” battle, or even the matter of where my time is best spent.  The biggest gain I’ve had since leaving the 9-5 is in regards to  my focus.

In my last couple weeks balancing the corporate and the independent, I was probably working 25 hours a week on The Goose… and thinking about it 60.  I left the marketing gig, freeing upwards of 60 extra “work” hours a week, and now I’m working on the Goose… 25 hours a week.

So what’s the deal?  Am I being lazy?  Am I taking a vacation before diving back into the “real work”?  I humbly argue – No.

What leaving the other job has truly allowed is an increase in focus on The Goose.  That focus is so much more valuable than the “work time” the extra hours allow me.  Could I work more than 25 hours a week on it?  Sure.  Will I?  Probably.  Knowing my own inability (or unwillingness!) to waste excess time, there’s a good chance I’ll be back up to 70 hours a week in no time.  The difference is that I am already producing and accomplishing more in 25 hours than I was in 70 (between The Goose and the marketing gig).  I contribute it to a matter of focus, and a lack of distractions.

An ex-coworker of mine cautioned that to work on the goose and to work at the marketing firm simultaneously was to fail at both.  The man had a point.  It’s a competitive world out there.  You can’t be everything to everyone, and you can’t divide your attention without someone coming up from behind.

Seth wrote about the phenomenon of “hard work” in regards to risk.  Brilliant article, key insights.  In our shiny object society though, I believe that “hard work” is also a matter of maintaining singular focus.

Pick your mission.  Define it.  Refine it to a razor sharp focus, then go after it with everything you’ve got.

For me, that’s the Goose.  I want to know what yours is.

3 Responses

  1. Hi,
    Very nicely written. I agree with you that focus is the key thing for completion of any job successfully. But most of the times i am not able to maintain it. i get distracted very easily, may be next time you should touch upon as to how to successfully maintain ur focus despite distractions.

    Thanks and Regards
    Kavita

    • David Allen is the master of focus through organization. I highly recommend his books (both Getting Things Done and Making it all Work).
      We did a synopsis and feature of Getting Things Done which you can read HERE.

      Also, watch for “Making it all Work” synopsis in early June!

      • Hi,
        Thank you very much for the advice, I shall try to get hold of a copy of this book and read it and implement it,
        Shall give you the updates of my progress.

        Thank you
        Regards

Leave a Reply

